Scout of the Year Banner

Scout of the Year

Some of the VFW’s earliest ties to the community involve youth groups and perhaps none are stronger or more lasting than the relationship between the VFW and America’s scouting organizations. In fact, VFW’s partnership with the Boy Scouts of America dates back to 1915 when VFW Post 2100 helped to establish Troop 1 in Everett, Washington.

Through the VFW’s Scout of the Year program, members of the Boy Scouts and Girl Scouts who display standout citizenship, patriotism and love of country have the opportunity to be rewarded with college scholarships of up to $5,000.


  • Scouts who are registered, active members of a Boy or Girl Scout Troop, Venturing Crew, or a Sea Scout Ship who have received the Eagle Scout Award, Girl Scout Gold Award, Venture Summit Award or Sea Scout Quartermaster Award.
  • Scouts must be 15 years of age and have demonstrated practical citizenship in school, scouting and the community.
  • Scouts must be enrolled in high school at the time of selection.

Note: All applicants still in high school who reach their 18th birthday during the nomination year remain eligible if otherwise qualified.


Scouts should submit the completed VFW Scouting Scholarship form, resume of high school activities, scouting record, community service record and letters of recommendation to a local VFW Post no later than March 1. Locate your local Post here.

Note: A Scout can enter through ONE VFW Post only.


Local VFW Posts submit all candidates with full entry criteria to their respective VFW Department (state) by April 1. From there, the Department selects a winner and forwards the entry to the VFW National Headquarters by May 1 for national-level judging.

The 2017 Scout of the Year winners:

1st PLACEScout of Year 1st place winner
Olivia Zietz is the 2016-17 VFW Scout of the Year. She was awarded a $5,000 scholarship. Elena was sponsored by the VFW Department of Tennessee and VFW Post 8422.

2nd PLACEScout of Year 2nd Place Winner
Katie Bruton was named the second-place winner and received a $3,000 scholarship. She was sponsored by the VFW Department of Missouri and VFW Post 2661.

3rd PLACEScout of Year 3rd Place winner
Anthony Perry was named the third-place winner and was awarded a $1,000 scholarship. He was sponsored by the VFW Department of Massachusetts and VFW Post 7239.